innovations-semifinalistSustainability in Prisons Project was invited to apply, and then named a Semifinalist in the 2015 Innovations in American Government Awards Program in October, 2015. In 2010 SPP was recognized with a Bright Idea award by the same organization, Harvard Kennedy School’s Ash Center for Democratic Governance and Innovation. The 2015 award represents a higher level of honor.

SPP’s co-founder, Dan Pacholke, received an Environmental Protection Award from Rotary Club of Olympia Washington for outstanding service for a safer environment in 2013. dans-rotary-award

SPP’s co-founder, Nalini Nadkarni, received the 2015 William Julius Wilson Award for the Advancement of Social Justice from Washington State University.

The tireless productivity of the Stafford Creek Corrections Center Sustainability Team was recognized by an Innovation Team Award in 2012 by Washington Corrections’s Annual Agency Awards.


Other Awards

Award Organization Date Recipient Comments
LEED-Gold Prison Campus U.S. Green Building Council 2010 Coyote Ridge Corrections Center Entire campus LEED-certified
Washington Correctional Association Education Award 2010 Professor Nalini Nadkarni (SPP Co-Founder) for her work with SPP
Public Service Award National Science Foundation 2010 Professor Nalini Nadkarni (SPP Co-Founder) in part, for her work with SPP
Education Award Washington Correctional Association 2010 Professor Nalini Nadkarni (SPP Co-Founder) for her work with the Sustainable Prisons Project
Top Honors for North America Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA) 2012 Oregon Spotted Frog Reintroduction Project OR Spotted Frog Working Group including the SPP Frog Program at Cedar Creek Corrections Center
Support Staff of the Year Department of Corrections Annual Agency Awards 2013 Paula Andrew in part, for her work supporting SPP programs at WCCW
Outstanding Performance Awards Department of Ecology 2014 Wastewater treatment plants at Clallam Bay, Olympic, McNeil Island, and Cedar Creek Corrections Centers Perfect performance: each plant passed all environmental tests, analyzed all samples,  turned in all state required reports, and avoided violations.
Outstanding Performance Award Department of Ecology 2006-2015 Mike Henry, Waste Water Treatment Plant Manager